KIPPLAUFBÜCHSE: DIE HERAUSFORDERUNGEINES EINZELNEN, PRÄZISEN SCHUSSES


Die Kipplaufbüchse spiegelt unsere alpine europäische Jagdtradition am besten wider: Die Idee, Teil der Natur zu sein, sich von seinen Fähigkeiten und Intuition leiten zu lassen und das Wild mit einem einzigen präzisen Schuss zu erlegen. Das ist Jagd in der ursprünglichsten Art – und Jagd vom Feinsten.

Unsere Firmengeschichte ist eng verbunden mit der einläufigen Kipplaufbüchse. Wir durften dieses Modell bereits im 19. Jahrhundert für Adelsgeschlechter und das österreichische Kaiserhaus fertigen. Die archaische Tradition der Jagd verlangt beständig nach neuen Visionen. Als Pioniere sind wir herausgefordert traditiertes Handwerk und modernste Technik zu verbinden und die Faszination, die diesen uralten menschlichen Traditionen innewohnt, weiterzutragen.

Die Kunst des Brückenbaus ist gelungen: Speziell am Modell der Kipplaufbüchse wird die Experimentierfreudigkeit und Passion unseres 230-jährigen Familienbetriebes ersichtlich.

Wer war eigentlich der Visionär der den Grundstein zu unserer heutigen mitteleuropäischen Jagdausübung legte?

Erzherzog Johann von Österreich (1782–1859)

Österreichischer Feldmarschall und in der Revolutionszeit von 1848/49 deutscher Reichsverweser. Gilt als großer Förderer und Modernisierer von Industrie, Landwirtschaft, Kultur- und Bildungsbereich. 1829 heiratete er die Tochter des Postmeisters von Bad Aussee, eine „Bürgerliche“, und wurde daraufhin von der Thronfolge ausgeschlossen. Wer über Reformen in der Jagd im 19. Jahrhundert recherchiert stößt unweigerlich auf ihn.

Erzherzog Johann am Hochschwab, 1839

Es war eine Zeit des politischen Umbruchs. Die Situation der Jagd war angespannt, denn bis in die Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts war das Jagdrecht ausschließlich dem Adel vorbehalten, unter zunehmender Empörung des „einfachen Volkes“ da teilweise zu hohe Wildbestände zu großen Wildschäden führten, welche die ohnehin kargen landwirtschaftlichen Erträge schmälerten. Dies führte weitläufig zur Wildererei (die „Wildschützen“).

Andererseits waren die aristokratischen feudalen Jagdpraktiken (Riegeljagden) maßlos und dezimierten Europas Wildtiere in hoher Zahl. Wild wurde auf Pferden mit Hunden gehetzt, mit Netzen in die Enge getrieben, in Gräben gefangen. Der Jagderfolg der edlen Herren wurde gemessen an der Anzahl der erlegten Tiere.

Erzherzog Johann setzte weitreichende Reformen um, die die mitteleuropäische Jagdausübung bis zum heutigen Tage prägen. Im Jahre 1850 verfügt er: „Das Wild sollte nicht länger nur ein Gegenstand der Jagdlust sein. Neben dem Recht auf Jagd bestand nun die Verpflichtung, „das Wild zu hegen, zu schützen und mit Respekt zu behandeln“.

Er verfügte umfassende Neuregelungen mittels Reviersystemen und setzte „Berufsjäger“ ein, um den Wildbestand in seinen Revieren wieder aufzubauen. Er ließ zum Beispiel nur bestimmte Revierteile bejagen und stellte sie danach mehrere Jahre unter „Schutz“, sodass es dort keine Beunruhigung gab.

Als Vorbild für viele seiner Jagdgäste war es ihm wichtig, dass bei Gesellschaftsjagden strenge Auswahlkriterien des jagdbaren Wildes festgelegt wurden – so durfte zum Beispiel bei den „Gamsrieglern“ keine Kitzgeiß und kein Kitz geschossen werden und jeder Schütze hatte sich nur eines einläufigen Stutzens zu bedienen.

Man spricht Erzherzog Johann habe sich von den „Wildschützen“ inspirieren lassen, die heimlich zur Nahrungsbeschaffung jagten, und dafür sorgen mussten, dass das Wild im Feuer fiel und mit einem präzisen Schuß sofort getötet wurde.

Die Einläufige des Erzherzog Johann

„Mit einer Einläufigen lernt man rein schießen, seine Schüsse sparen und zur rechten Zeit abgeben“ (Erzherzog Johanns Grundsatz)

Der Vorläufer der modernen Kipplaufbüchse: eine eigens für Erzherzog Johann umgebaute Steinschlossbüchse, (Vorderlader) mit kurzem 8-Kantlauf, im Kaliber 15,5/14,2 mm (Zug/Feld). Sie besitzt bereits einen deutschen Stecher und eine aufklappbare Visiereinrichtung. Der aus Holz gefertigte Abzugsbügel, die Schaftkappe sowie die Ladestockösen sind mit Messing beschlagen, wobei die Einlegearbeiten am Lauf mit einem Silberfaden gestaltet sind.

Ihre – bis auf das Familienwappen – schlichte, elegante Ausführung repräsentiert eindrucksvoll auch die jagdliche Gesinnung und Wertschätzung gegenüber Jagd und Wildtier des Erzherzogs.

Szenenwechsel, beinahe hundert Jahre später. Wir tauchen ein in eine längst vergangene Epoche, ins historische Bad Ischl, Sommerresidenz von Kaiser Franz Joseph I (1830–1916) – des „ewigen“ letzten Kaisers der habsburgischen Donaumonarchie (er regierte 68 Jahre). Dort traf sich alles, was gesellschaftlich Rang und Namen hatte, um mit dem Kaiser und seiner schönen Kaiserin Elisabeth von Österreich (Sisi) rauschende Feste zu feiern, und die Jagd zu zelebrieren. Was ein spezielles Waffenmodell weltberühmt machte: den ISCHLERSTUTZEN.

The Kaiservilla in Bad Ischl, Upper Austria, was the summer residence of Emperor Franz Joseph I and Empress Elisabeth of Austria, known as Sisi.

The mansion is currently the residence of their great-grandson Archduke Markus Emanuel Salvator, on the pics with Johann and Ilse Fanzoj.

Der „Ischlerstutzen“

TRADITIONELL. WERTVOLL. SCHÖN.

Der „Ischlerstutzen“ wurde Ende des 19. Jahrhundert populär, als Kaiser Franz Joseph I. dieses Gewehr auf seinen Gesellschaftsjagden in Bad Ischl/Österreich präsentierte: elegant, führig und relativ leicht, und damit Welten von den damals üblichen schweren Vorderladerwaffen entfernt. Für einen gezielten Schuss in Ruhe und in günstiger Lage, auf Distanzen von ungefähr 80 m. Der im langen Vorderschaft eingebettete Achtkant Lauf war gegen Beschädigungen bei einem eventuellen Sturz geschützt. Weiter verhinderte die Vollschäftung unangenehme metallene Geräusche. Die Aristokratie war begeistert – und das Gewehr trägt seither den Namen „Ischlerstutzen“.

Kaiser Franz Joseph I., Bad Ischl 1912. Zu seiner Rechten der Urgroßvater von Johann Fanzoj senior, der den Ischler-Stutzen für den Kaiser fertigte.

Historischer Ischlerstutzen aus dem Hause Fanzoj, cal. 8×50, welcher Jahr für die Jahr die Bockjagd des Hr. Fanzoj sen. eröffnet; gefertigt damals für Kaiser Franz Joseph I.

Vor mehr als einem Jahrhundert hat unser Unternehmen diesen Ischlerstutzen für den österreichischen Kaiser Franz Joseph I. gefertigt. Wir bauen diese unikale Hahn-Büchse auch heute noch. Ein handwerklicher Genuss mit nostalgischem Flair, der an vergangene Zeiten und den Ruhm der habsburgischen Monarchie erinnert.

In den letzten Jahrzehnten sind einige außergewöhnliche Ischlerstutzen aus unserer Werkstatt hervorgegangen.

LIES MEHR
-> www.fanzoj.com/de/kollektion/kipplaufbuchsen/der-ischlerstutzen

Viel Wasser ist seither den Loiblbach hinuntergeflossen. Die Zeiten haben sich gewandelt, und unser Portfolio hat sich erweitert. In unserem Familienbetrieb verschmelzen Tradition und außergewöhnliche Handwerkskunst nahtlos mit modernster Technologie, um einzigartige technische und künstlerische Meisterwerke zu schaffen. Wir bauen eine faszinierende Vielfalt an klassischen Modellen – Flinten, Büchsen, sowie mehrkalibrige Sonderanfertigungen – und arbeiten mittlerweile mit High-Tech Materialien wie Titanium und neuerdings sogar Carbon.

Unser Herz gehört immer noch der Kipplaufbüchse. Mit dem neuen Modell KB-1 ist uns eine Weiterentwicklung gelungen, die weltweit Beachtung gefunden hat. Unser Fanzoj Kipplauf KB-1 vereint hervorragende Präzision und Haltbarkeit mit Eleganz und Historie.

Dies entspricht mehr denn je dem ZEITGEIST.

LIES MEHR
-> www.fanzoj.com/de/craftsmanship-walk-4
-> www.fanzoj.com/de/kollektion/kipplaufbuchsen



More news

JOHANN FANZOJ featured at CREATE DAY/LONDON CRAFT WEEK 2021

We are pleased and honored for the invitation to join CREATE DAY this year, a program presented by LONDON CRAFT WEEK, an annual festival celebrating talent & outstanding creativity by bringing…

Read More

THE ART OF THE GUN: BAHRAIN LUXURY MAGAZINE ”DURRAH“ PORTRAYS JOHANN FANZOJ’S STUNNING VISIONS FOR AN ANCIENT CRAFT

We are pleased to share a fabulous article about our company in the June issue of DURRAH, a luxury lifestyle magazine in the Gulf States, which emphasizes the historical relevance & fascination of…

Read More

KÖNIGIN DES STILS – ELEGANZ UND HANDWERKLICHE PERFEKTION: DIE KIPPLAUFBÜCHSE KB-1 AUS DEM HAUSE FANZOJ

Wir freuen uns über den schönen Artikel im neuen HALALI Magazin 2/2021. „Reiz und Ethos der Jagd liegen in der Beschränkung“, wie Dr. Wolfgang Fleck so trefflich formuliert, deren stilvoller Ausdruck…

Read More

Subscribe to Fanzoj Newsletter

    MrMs

    This site is protected by reCAPTCHA. Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

SINGLE SHOT BREAK-DOWN RIFLE: THE CHALLENGETO TAKE GAME WITH A SINGLE, PRECISE SHOT


The Single shot stalking rifle, or Kipplauf, best reflects best our Alpine-European hunting tradition: The idea of being part of nature, of putting one’s skills and intuition to the test, and to take game with a single, precise shot. This is hunting at its most elemental form – and hunting at its finest.

Our company history is closely connected to the single-shot rifle. We were asked to build this model previously for noblemen and the Austrian imperial court back in the 19th century. The archaic tradition of hunting constantly calls for new visions. As pioneers, we are challenged to combine traditional craftsmanship with the latest technology and to carry on the fascination inherent in these ancient human traditions.

The „art of building bridges“ has been successful: The innovative power and passion of our 230-year-old family firm is most evident in our single shot rifle models.

One might ask if the origin of our current Central European hunting practice can be traced back and attributed to a single person, and the anwser is yes.

Archduke John of Austria (1782–1859)

Marshal and imperial regent (Reichsverweser) of the short-lived German Empire during the Revolutions of 1848; patron of moderniization, (agri)culture and art, who was excluded from succession to the Habsburg throne for marrying a „common“ lady. Anyone who researches the hunting reforms introduced in the 19th century will inevitably come across him.

Erzherzog Johann on the „Hochschwab“/Styria, Austria, 1839

At that time, the situation of hunting was tense, because until the revolution years of 1848 (the middle of the 19th century), the right to hunt was reserved solely for the aristocracy. To the increasing outrage (discontent) of the common people, as in some cases excessively high game populations led to large game damage, which reduced the already meager agricultural yields – and opened the door to poaching (die „Wildschützen“).

On the other side Aristocratic feudal hunting practices (Riegeljagden) were excessive and decimated Europe´s wild game in quick succession. Game was chased on horse with dogs, trapped and cornered with nets, in ditches. The hunting success of the noble gentlemen was measured by the number of animals taken.

Archduke Johann implemented far-reaching reforms that have shaped Central European hunting practice to this day. in 1850 he ruled that “The game should no longer be merely an object of the lust for hunting. In addition to the right to hunt, there was now an obligation „to look after the game, to preserve the game, and to treat the game with respect”.

He rebuilt the wild game numbers through new regulations using area systems and so-called professional hunters. For example, he had only certain parts of the area hunted and then placed them under “protection” for several years.

As a role model for many of his hunting guests, it was important to him that strict selection criteria for the game that could be hunted were set for society hunts on his property. For example, during “Gamsriegler” (driven hunts on chamois) guests were not allowed to shoot a female or fawn and each shooter had to use a single-shot rifle.

It is said that Archduke Johann was inspired by the „peasant poachers“ („Wildschützen“), who hunted in secret, for meat and had to make sure that the game fell in the fire, and that it was killed immediately.

Archduke Johann's Single Shot

"With a single barrel you learn to shoot clean, save your shots and fire at the right time“. (Archduke Johann´s principle)

The forerunner of the modern single shot rifle: a flintlock rifle (muzzle loader), specially converted for Archduke Johann, with a short octagonal barrel, in caliber 15.5 / 14.2 mm (rifling) already has a German set trigger and a sighting device. The wooden trigger guard, the butt plate and the ramrod eyelets are brass-covered.

With the exception of the golden coat of arms and some silver inlays on the barrel, the rifle is of of elegant simplicity which is said to reflect the archduke’s mindset and appreciation for hunting and wild animals.

Travelling forward in time a bit, almost a hundred years later. We immerse ourselves in a bygone era, in the historic Bad Ischl, summer residence of Emperor Franz Joseph I (1830–1916) – the “eternal” last emperor of the Habsburg Danube monarchy (he ruled for 68 years). There, everyone of social rank and name met to celebrate lavish parties with the Emperor and his beautiful Empress Elisabeth of Austria (Sisi) – and to celebrate the hunt. It was here, where a special rifle model world became famous: the ISCHLERSTUTZEN.

The Kaiservilla in Bad Ischl, Upper Austria, was the summer residence of Emperor Franz Joseph I and Empress Elisabeth of Austria, known as Sisi.

The mansion is currently the residence of their great-grandson Archduke Markus Emanuel Salvator, on the pics with Johann and Ilse Fanzoj.

The “Ischlerstutzen”

TRADITIONAL. ELABORATE. BEAUTIFUL.

The Ischler short rifle became popular at the end of the 19th Century, when Emperor Franz Joseph I presented it at his society hunts in Bad Ischl, Austria. It was elegant, with perfect handling, relatively light in weight, perfect for calm targeted shots from a good position, for distances of nearly 80m – and worlds apart from the heavy large-caliber muzzleloaders commonly used before this time. The octagonal barrel was cradled in a full length stock- forend (with a decorative horn end-cap at the muzzle) which protected it from damage and also prevented clanging noises that might scare game. The aristocratic hunters were thrilled and the rifle has been called the “Ischler short rifle” ever since.

Emperor Francis Joseph I, Bad Ischl 1912. To his right the great-grandfather of Johann Fanzoj senior, who crafted the Ischler-short-rifle model for the emperor.

Johann Fanzoj sen. gives his prelude to the hunting season every year with his original Ischlerstutzen from 1912, cal. 8x50R made by his great-grandfather for emperor Franz Joseph I.

More than a century ago our company Johann Fanzoj crafted this “Ischler short rifle” for Austrian emperor Francis Joseph I. We still build this unique hammer rifle today. A handcrafted delight with a nostalgic flair, reminiscent of bygone times and the glory of the Habsburg emperors.

In the past few decades some amazing rifles have emerged from our workshop.

READ MORE
-> www.fanzoj.com/collection/single-shot-rifles/ischler-short-rifle

A lot of water has flowed down the Loiblbach stream to Ferlach since then. Times have changed and our portfolio has expanded. At our workshop today, tradition and exceptional craftsmanship blend seamlessly with advanced technology to create unique technical and artistic masterpieces. We build a fascinating variety of classic models – both shotguns and rifles, as well as multi-caliber special commissions – and now work with high-tech materials such as titanium and even carbon fibre.

Our heart still belongs to the single shot rifle. With the new model KB-1 we have introduced an evolution to the classic break-down single shot rifle that has attracted worldwide attention. Our Fanzoj Kipplauf KB-1 combines outstanding accuracy and durability with elegance and history.

This corresponds more than ever to the ZEITGEIST.

READ MORE
-> www.fanzoj.com/craftsmanship-walk-4
-> www.fanzoj.com/collection/single-shot-rifles



More news

JOHANN FANZOJ featured at CREATE DAY/LONDON CRAFT WEEK 2021

We are pleased and honored for the invitation to join CREATE DAY this year, a program presented by LONDON CRAFT WEEK, an annual festival celebrating talent & outstanding creativity by bringing…

Read More

THE ART OF THE GUN: BAHRAIN LUXURY MAGAZINE ”DURRAH“ PORTRAYS JOHANN FANZOJ’S STUNNING VISIONS FOR AN ANCIENT CRAFT

We are pleased to share a fabulous article about our company in the June issue of DURRAH, a luxury lifestyle magazine in the Gulf States, which emphasizes the historical relevance & fascination of…

Read More

KÖNIGIN DES STILS – ELEGANZ UND HANDWERKLICHE PERFEKTION: DIE KIPPLAUFBÜCHSE KB-1 AUS DEM HAUSE FANZOJ

Wir freuen uns über den schönen Artikel im neuen HALALI Magazin 2/2021. „Reiz und Ethos der Jagd liegen in der Beschränkung“, wie Dr. Wolfgang Fleck so trefflich formuliert, deren stilvoller Ausdruck…

Read More

Subscribe to Fanzoj Newsletter

    MrMs

    This site is protected by reCAPTCHA. Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.